Chelsea Season Review: 2020/2021 – Player Ratings

Mason Mount – 54 appearances, 9 goals, 9 assists – 9/10.

To sum up Mason Mount’s season you need one word – outstanding. He is now surely one of the first names on both Tuchel’s and Southgate’s team-sheets. His season stats of 9 goals and 9 assists are just a small part of the enormous contribution he has made. His spirt and passion for the club is clear for everyone to see.

Timo Werner – 52 appearances, 12 goals, 15 assists – 6/10.

Timo’s arrival at the club came with huge expectations and it’s an understatement to say his goal ratio was a disappointment. Just 2 goals in his last 21 games was not good enough and he missed some big chances. He was unlucky on occasions but I think that all Chelsea fans will be holding onto those expectations for next season. (He also has a cracking song).

N’Golo Kanté – 48 appearances – 9/10.

What a player! And if you believe all the stories, what a man too. Another great season from the Frenchman who surely has to be in line for the Ballon d’Or award. He was Man of the Match in both of the Champions League semi-finals and the final itself. I hope that we offer whatever he wants to keep him at the club for the rest of his career.

Reece James – 47 appearances, 1 goal, 5 assists – 7/10.

This was Reece’s breakthrough season as he won the trust of both managers and made 47 appearances. He has been at the club since the age of 6 and he does not look out of place as wing back or centre back – he certainly deserved his place in the England Euro squad.

Kai Havertz – 45 appearances, 9 goals, 9 assists – 6.5/10.

The young German had a slow start to the season, where he looked off the pace and too lightweight for English football. He also had the misfortune of contracting Covid, but under Tuchal and in a slightly different role, he began to look a bit more like the £72m signing that we were hoping for. In the 42nd minute of a game in Porto on May 29th, he scored the goal that brought the Champions League back to the Bridge.

(credit | BT Sport).


Édouard Mendy – 44 appearances, 25 clean sheets – 7.5/10.

Édouard Mendy joined after Petr Čech advised the board to splash the cash on the Senegalese international. He was brought in to replace Kepa and kept 25 clean sheets in his 44 games. It certainly looks like a great piece of business and even though he still worries me with the ball at his feet, he has helped shore up the back line.


César Azpilicueta – 43 appearances, 1 goal, 3 assists – 6.5/10.

The captain has had a strange season. He lost his place earlier in the year to Reece James, however recovered from this and played his 400th game for the club this year and is now 8th on the all-time appearances list (a bargain at £7m). He very rarely lets the club down and will go down as a Champions League winning captain.

Jorginho – 43 appearances, 8 goals, 2 assists – 6/10.

The ultimate marmite player that gets singled out when he makes any sort of error - the issue is that the errors keep happening. When he does dictate the pace of the game, it’s to slow it down. For me, I don’t think he is suited to the fast pace of the Premier League and it wouldn’t surprise me if he returns to Italy in the not-too-distant future.

Christian Pulisic – 43 appearances, 6 goals, 4 assists – 6/10.

At the end of the 2019/2020 season, Captain America was flying until he picked up an injury in the FA Cup Final. This season was a big one for the American, but the injuries took their toll and with extra competition for his place, he struggled to get any consistent game time. Saying that, he is still a young player that will only get better with experience.

Ben Chilwell – 42 appearances, 4 goals, 7 assists – 7/10.

I was concerned when Chelsea spent £50m on Leicester’s full back, but he exceeded my expectations and performed well throughout the season. He settled in quickly and his 4 goals and 7 assists to show how good he is going forward.

Mateo Kovačić – 42 appearances, 2 assists – 6.5/10.

Kovačić has now won the Champions League four times, something you can’t manage by being a poor player. He can be hugely frustrating, and his scoring certainly needs some work. But, on the flip side, he put in some great workmanlike performances throughout the course of the season.

Hakim Ziyech – 39 appearances – 8 goals – 6/10.

The Moroccan was a disappointment this season. It was not the best of starts picking up an injury in a pre-season game that kept him out for a while. When he returned to the side, he still rarely showed the form he produced for Ajax. However, as the season came to an end he did find the net in a few crucial games – most notably the FA Cup semi-final.

(credit | Chelsea Football Club).


Callum Hudson-Odoi – 37 appearances, 5 goals, 5 assists – 5.5/10.

Another Chelsea youngster with masses of potential and I hope that he repays the board’s faith in him. He also had the dubious honour of being a sub that was subbed this season.

Kurt Zouma – 36 appearances, 5 goals – 6/10.

The complete opposite to Rüdi. Kurt started the season on fire and with his 5 goals and was flying. He had a real dip in form which affected his confidence, causing in the defender to drop the pecking order behind both Christensen and Rüdiger. I don’t think that he looks as comfortable in a back three, which could be his downfall under Tuchel.

(credit | Chelsea Football Club).


Antonio Rüdiger – 34 appearances, 1 goal, 1 assist – 7/10.

A real season of two halves for Rüdiger. He was on the brink of leaving the club in January but under Tuchel he was a very different player and showed the spirit and desire that he was lacking earlier in the year.

Thiago Silva – 34 appearances, 2 goals – 8/10.

Chelsea has a reputation of finding a world-class player on free trasnfers, and Thiago Silva is no exception. Apart from two games to forget against WBA (in which he was not alone), he had a superb season. His leadership and experience was crucial both on and off the field. His wife also seems to have embraced the club as well, which too is a positive.

Tammy Abraham – 32 appearances, 12 goals, 6 assists – 6/10.

Sometimes some managers don’t connect with some players, and I think this is the case with Tammy and Tuchel. He was the top scorer at the club this season until May and he only played 140 mins under Tuchel since his arrival in January. I’m not sure there is any way back for him at the club at the moment and he looks almost certain to move on in the summer.

Olivier Giroud – 31 appearances, 11 goals – 6.5/10.

A model professional is the best way to sum up Olivier Giroud. He became the oldest player to score a hat-trick in the Champions League when he hit four past Sevilla, and at 34 he surely knows that game time will be at a premium. I suspect that this summer we may be saying goodbye to the Frenchman and he will leave us with a pocket full of medals.

(credit | BT Sport).


Andreas Christensen – 27 appearances – 6.5/10.

Andreas looks much better in a back three in contrast to the standard a flat back four. He is another player that was out in the cold at the start of the year, and I was slightly worried when he came on in the Champions League final. However, I shouldn’t have been, as her performed superbly in his time on the pitch. Hopefully he will carry this performance forward into next year.

Marcos Alonso – 17 appearances, 2 goals – 5.5/10.

After a disaster at West Brom early in the season, Alonso fell out of favour and was left completely in the cold until Tuchel restored him to the side. After he lost his place to Chilwell, he never managed to regained it and the rumours of him leaving the club have surfaced once again.

Emerson – 15 appearances, 1 goal – 5/10.

The Brazilian rarely got into the starting eleven throughout the season. Even though he netted a goal in the win against Atlético Madrid, he will surely be a player that will be plying his trade elsewhere next season.

Kepa Arrizabalaga – 14 appearances, 6 clean sheets – 5/10.

The £71m keeper is still not living up to the price tag. He had a disaster against Liverpool early in the season and was replaced as soon as Mendy arrived at the club. Although he did look a little better later in the season, his future still remains uncertain.

Billy Gilmour – 12 appearances – 6/10.

Chelsea have a real gem on their hands with this lad. His first few appearances for the Blues have resulted in Man of the Match awards and after he forced his way into Steve Clarke’s Scotland squad, he was named Man of the Match against England. I would love to see him get more game time next year, but to do that I think a loan could be the answer. Billy is currently linked with a move to Norwich in the summer.

Fikayo Tomori – 8 appearances.

Tomori joined Chelsea as an under-8 and made his way to the first team under Frank Lampard. He was loaned to AC Milan in January 2021 and became the first Englishman to score for the Italians since David Beckham. In June 2021, Tomori signed a permanent deal to join Milan for £25m.


Tino Anjorin – 3 appearances.

Another Chelsea youth team player that joined the club at an under-7 level. He made his Champions League debut this year as was named in the starting line-up against Krasnodar. He looks to have a bright future in the game and at Chelsea.

Ross Barkley – 3 appearances, 1 goal.

A frustrating season from a frustrating player. He is someone that I would love to see do well at Chelsea but maybe another one that could leave this summer. He went on loan to Aston Villa in September 2020 and managed 24 appearances for the Villans.


Willy Caballero – 2 appearances.

Willy left the club on the 4th June 2021. He rarely let the Blues down and who knows what would have happened in the League Cup final if Kepa had left the field of play.

Ruben Loftus-Cheek – 1 appearance.

It has been announced this week that Tuchel wants a look at Loftus-Cheek in pre-season. This will be a huge boost to a player who was in some decent form before a serious injury in 2019. He went to Fulham on loan in October 2020.

_______________________________

Written by @ArmadilloBlue1.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All